Bayside Championships held in Cambridge

Dorchester Banner/Dave Ryan
Jasper Hood powered through the reflection of the red scoreboard lights on his way to a place on the All-Bayside Team.

CAMBRIDGE — The 2020 Bayside Conference Swim Championships were held at the Pauline F. and W. David Robbins Family YMCA, attracting teams and fans from across the Eastern Shore. Athletes from Cambridge-South Dorchester High School earned their share of success, with four making this year’s All-Bayside Team.

Meet Director Pete Pietras was pleased with the event and the level of competition displayed. “I believe it was an excellent representation of the swimming talent on the eastern shore,” he wrote in a statement to the Banner.

2020 All Bayside Swim Team
Lee Zeitlin – KIHS
Jack Pearse – KIHS
Devon Doll – CSDHS
Jasper Hood – CSDHS
Richard Poist – SDHS
Patrick O’Halloran – SDHS
Josh Newmier – EHS
Nathan Olah – QAHS
Will Covington – QAHS
Shane Saunders – KCHS
Andrew Smith – KCHS
Dayton Dean – PHS
Matt Krystofiak – PHS

Olivia Getek – KIHS
Katia Insley – KIHS
Kathryn Collison – CSDHS
Madison Pleasants – CSDHS
Kiley Hamby – SDHS
Mikayla Denault – SDHS
Mia Russo – EHS
McKenzie Hemingway– QAHS
Kaitlyn Robinson – QAHS
Annie Squires – KCHS
Claire O’Brien – KCHS

Team ranks and scores

  1. Kent Island 407
  2. Queen Anne’s County HS 398
  3. Stephen Decatur 385
  4. Easton High 291
  5. Cambridge-South Dorchester 182
  6. Kent County High School 42
    Team ranks and scores
  7. Easton High 369
  8. Stephen Decatur 351
  9. Kent County High School 283
  10. Kent Island 263
  11. Cambridge-South Dorchester 242.5
  12. Queen Anne’s County 221
  13. Pocomoke 97.5
    Kelley Moore of Queen Anne’s County High School was named 2020 Bayside Swim Coach of the Year.
    The Maryland Public Secondary Schools’ Athletic Association 2020 Championship Meet will take place at University of Maryland College Park – Eppley Recreation Center. The Class 3A/2A/1A meet will be Feb. 22 at 4 p.m.
    Admission for individuals 7 years and older is $10 person. For more information on the meet, visit