North Dorchester High School students graduate with ‘pomp and circumstance’

MD-ndhs grad 4x-060116

Special to Dorchester Banner/Jane Coulbourne
NDHS Principal J. Lynn Sorrells (far right) presented the awards to those outstanding seniors who achieved high honors for their dedication to academics, achievement, participation, and other qualities of leadership.

HURLOCK — “Our lives are before us, our past is behind us, and our memories are forever within us.”

The North Dorchester High School graduating class of 2016 celebrated its commencement ceremony on May 24, surrounded by friends, family and neighbors. The nearly 100 senior high school students, led by choral music/key club teacher Sabra Steward, processed down the auditorium aisles to the stage to receive their diplomas.

A welcome address by class of 2016 President Bailey Lowe followed a rendition of the National Anthem by graduating seniors Destiny Brown and Grace Brinsfield. Assistant Principal Dr. Benjamin Hosch introduced special guests followed by remarks from Salutatorian Lindsey Corkran, class vice president.

Cornell Stanley offered the commencement address and received the speaker’s class gift from Ms. Corkran. Class advisor Adam Wilson explained to the Banner why Mr. Stanley was chosen commencement speaker: “Mr. Cornell Stanley is a 2007 graduate of North Dorchester High School and currently works as a financial advisor in Baltimore. The senior class officers and advisors chose Mr. Stanley to speak because he is a past class president of NDHS.”

Mr. Stanley stressed the importance of working hard to achieve success and not giving up. In an interview with the Banner Mr. Wilson noted the commencement speaker “also spoke about a few famous examples of how failure can turn into success, explaining to the graduates that sometimes failing at one thing opens the door for success elsewhere.”

Austin Loeffler gave the Valedictory address after which Dr. Henry Wagner, superintendent of Dorchester County Schools, and president of the Board of Education, Philip L. Bramble Jr. presented graduate diplomas.

NDHS Principal Jacqueline Lynn Sorrells presented awards to several outstanding seniors. Recipients of Scholastic Merit Awards were: Grace Brinsfield, Destiny Brown, Lindsey Corkran, Erin Freeman, and Austin Loeffler. These special awards are given by the Governor of Maryland to seniors who rank in the top 5 percent of their class.

Austin Loefler was named Valedictorian as the senior who has the first highest cumulative GPA (grade point average) based on report cards in grades 9-12.

Lindsey Corkran received the Salutatory Award for the second highest cumulative GPA for grades 9-12.

The NDHS Award went to Destiny Brown “in recognition of scholarship, loyalty, and achievement as evidenced by the positions of leadership and trust held in school.”

Kayla Allen received the William R. National Honor Society Student of the Year Award which is presented to a senior who, “in the opinion of the members of the Kiakime Chapter of the National Honor Society, possesses the qualities of extracurricular activities participation, citizenship, school spirit, loyalty, personal integrity, and reliability.”

Recipients of the Patricia H. Hopkins Memorial Scholarship Award included: Winner Lindsey Corkran; 1st Runner Up, Destiny Brown; 2nd Finalist, Bailey Lowe; and 3rd Finalist, Grace Brinsfield. This scholarship, selected by the scholarship fund board of directors, is based on scholarship, activities, dependability, and potential for success in a chosen career.

NDHS Service Award went to Lindsey Corkran who was selected by the school’s faculty based on “outstanding qualities of dependability, leadership, trust, cooperation, and loyalty to the school.”

Winners of the Willie J. Sydnor Memorial Scholarship Award were Grace Brinsfield and Destiny Brown. The award is presented on the basis of “character, scholarship, leadership, dependability, cooperation, and loyalty to the school and community. The recipients were selected by the Board of Directors of the Willie James Sydnor Memorial Scholarship Fund.”
Officers for the graduation class of 2016 were: Bailey Lowe, president; Lindsey Corkran, vice president, Karelly Sanchez; secretary; Megan Harding, treasurer; and spirit chairperson, Kyla Thompson.

The class of 2016 also included: 4 Scholastic Merit Awards, 13 Maryland Scholars, 7 High School Scholar certificates, 6 Advanced Placement Diploma Endorsements, 5 members of the National Honor Society, 3 members of the National Technical Honor Society, 1 National Art Honor Society recipient, and 3 members of the National Spanish Honor Society.

The new graduates took pictures. They celebrated. Soon they will seek future opportunities and embrace a world of infinite possibilities.

Facebook Comment
WP RSS Plugin on WordPress