Funding expands Md. Meals for Achievement

BALTIMORE – The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) has awarded $7.55 million in State funds to 522 schools selected to participate in Maryland Meals for Achievement (MMFA), an alternative breakfast delivery program that provides students with free, in-classroom breakfast. Of the 522 schools selected for MMFA, 32 schools are additional for school year 2019-2020.

The MMFA funds supplement the federal reimbursement that school districts receive through the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s School Breakfast Program. For school year 2019-2020, more than 275,500 students across Maryland will benefit from free, in-classroom breakfast through the program.

Alternative breakfast delivery programs, such as MMFA, significantly contribute to increasing students’ access to a healthy morning meal. In addition, due to recent legislation, participating MMFA middle and high schools have the option to serve breakfast outside of the classroom, using a ‘Grab and Go’ model.

This model allows students to grab healthy meals “on the go” from designated areas in the school to consume inside the classroom.

School administrators and teachers credit MMFA with improving student academic achievement, behavior, and well-being. Advocates and parents recognize the impact MMFA has on reducing childhood hunger and assisting students’ preparation for their academic day.

A list of participating schools in Dorchester and Caroline follow:

Dorchester County
Board Of Education
Cambridge-South Dorchester High
Choptank Elementary
Hurlock Elementary
Mace’s Lane Middle
Maple Elementary
New Directions Learning Academy (Alt. School)
North Dorchester Middle
Sandy Hill Elementary
Vienna Elementary
Warwick Elementary

Caroline County
Public Schools
Col. Richardson High
Col. Richardson Middle
Denton Elementary
Family Support Center
Federalsburg Elementary
Greensboro Elementary
Judy Center Early Headstart
Lockerman Middle
North Caroline High
Preston Elementary
Ridgely Elementary

The Maryland State Department of Education and the U.S. Department of Agriculture are equal opportunity providers.

Facebook Comment