Mayor’s race, three council seats decided in Cambridge

MD-Mayor Vickie interview_1x green

Dorchester Banner/Paul Clipper
Two-term Cambridge Mayor Victoria Jackson-Stanley will resume her mayoral duties after the election in July.

CAMBRIDGE — At the close of business on April 29, three City Council seats and the Mayor’s office have been filled with uncontested candidates. Friday was the deadline for filing for the upcoming city election.

As of that time deadline, former two-term Mayor Victoria Jackson-Stanley was the only candidate filed for the Mayor’s position, which she will assume following the election in July.

In Ward 2 and Ward 5, also, Donald J. Sydnor and Robert L. Hanson, incumbents, respectively, were the only candidates filed in their wards, and will resume their council seats uncontested.

In Ward 1, incumbent Jackie Vickers will not seek re-election this year. Steve Rideout has filed for election in that ward and is not contested.

In Cambridge’s Ward 3, incumbent Frank E. Cooke will be seeking re-election. He will be sharing the ballot with ward residents Armah Dashiell of 407 Cedar St., and with La-Shon M. Foster of 28 Douglas St.

In Ward 4, Gage Thomas will not see re-election. The seat will be contested in July by candidates Carlos L. Wilson of 1015 Pine St., Dave Cannon of 1101 Stone Boundary Road, and Dion Banks of 803 Hubbard St.

Paul Clipper is the editor of the Dorchester Banner. He can be reached at

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment