Incumbents win re-election in Secretary Council seats

MD-secretary election 2x-050515

The Dorchester Banner/Susan M. Bautz
Election judges Jean Morrison and Faye Willoughby counted ballots from the March 4 Secretary town election.

SECRETARY — Twenty minutes after Secretary’s Town Clerk Yvonne Pritchett opened the small padlock on the old black ballot box in the town hall, the election was decided. Two council seats were open. Incumbent Commissioners Jennifer Rebert and Henry Short ran for re-election; and, former Commissioner Patrick Reed vied for a seat as well.

Veteran election judge Faye Willoughby has counted ballots in Secretary for over 20 years. Jean Morrison has served as a judge for the past three elections. The pair, plus Ms. Pritchett, quietly counted the paper slips, marked the choices on a spread sheet, and compared results.

The incumbents were returned to office. Sixty-three residents voted in this year’s election which, according to Mayor Susan Dukes was considered a “good turnout.” Of the 63, nine were absentee ballots. The town usually sees about half that when there is no competition for open seats. Commissioner Rebert received 32 votes; Commissioner Short garnered 37; and challenger Patrick Reed got 27 votes.

The winners will be sworn in at the beginning of July.

Susan Bautz is a freelance writer for the Dorchester Banner.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.

Facebook Comment