County chooses: Mostly Republican, mostly incumbents

Submitted to Dorchester Banner Though incumbent Republican Delegate Johnny Mautz (37B) beat Democratic challenger Dan O'Hare, the two men remain friends.

Submitted to Dorchester Banner
Though incumbent Republican Delegate Johnny Mautz (37B) beat Democratic challenger Dan O’Hare, the two men remain friends.

CAMBRIDGE – A strong early-voting turnout combined with Election Day ballots on Nov. 6 provided Dorchester’s choices: mostly Republican, and mostly incumbents.

Republican Gov. Larry Hogan and Lt. Gov. Boyd K. Rutherford were overwhelming favorites in the county on their way to re-election, getting 74.7 percent of the vote in Dorchester. Democratic challengers Ben Jealous and Susan Turnbull earned 24.4 percent locally.

Comptroller Peter Franchot, a Democrat, was re-elected. He had wide support in Dorchester, as he ended up with 68.9 percent, to Republican Anjali Reed Phukan’s 31 percent. In the other top state post, though Democrat Brian E. Frosh, the incumbent, won the state, he fell in Dorchester to Republican Craig Wolf, 56.3 to 43.7 percent.

For national posts, the GOP’s Tony Campbell could claim victory in Dorchester over Democrat Ben Cardin, 48 to 47.9 percent, though Sen. Cardin won re-election. Incumbent U.S. Representative Andy Harris will return to Washington, with 56.5 percent of the county’s vote. He beat Democrat Jesse Colvin in Dorchester, who garnered 42.5 percent.

State Senator Addie Eckardt will remain in her post, representing Maryland’s District 37. Sen. Eckardt won 63.1 percent in the county, to Democrat Holly Wright’s 36.8.

“Thank you so much. Once again, I am proud and honored to serve the Mid Shore and to continue to work for you in Annapolis,” Sen. Eckardt wrote in a post online. “Let’s continue to build a strong local team for good in the district. Because of you all I am blessed.”

Democrat Sheree Sample-Hughes beat Republican Frank E. Cooke in House of Delegates District 37A, 68.3-31.5. In 37B, Republicans Christopher T. Adams (36.4) and Johnny Mautz (47.0) beat Democrat Dan O’Hare (16.4).

“Special shout out to Dan O’Hare — Dan campaigned tirelessly and cares deeply about improving our community!” Delegate Mautz wrote the day after the election. “God Bless you, Dan, and I hope to see you in the future.”

Mr. O’Hare replied, “Thanks, John Mautz! It was great getting to know you!”

The big changes took place in choosing the next Dorchester County Council. Only two members, Ricky C. Travers (District 3) and William Nichols (District 2) were re-elected. Both were unopposed — Mr. Nichols received 98.5 percent, and Mr. Travers received 97.5 percent.

In District 1, incumbent Republican Don B. Satterfield fell to Jay L. Newcomb, 53.7-45.7.

In District 4, Lenny Pfeffer, a Republican, had already unseated Rick Price in the primary. Running unopposed — except for write-in candidates — in the General Election, Mr. Pfeffer received 94.6 percent of the vote.

In District 5, Republican Libby Handley Nagel earned 84.1 percent of the vote. Incumbent Thomas Bradshaw lost to Ms. Nagel in the primary. He received 13.6 percent of the General Election vote as a write-in candidate.

Judge of the Court of Special Appeals at Large Donald E. Beachley won with 85.4 percent, as did Matthew J. Fader, with 85.8.

State’s Attorney William H. Jones, a Democrat, received 97.8 percent. He was unopposed.

Clerk of Circuit Court Amy J. Craig, a Republican, received 97.6 percent, unopposed.

Democrat Doris Keene Lewis won re-election as Register of Wills, with 60.5 percent. She beat Republican challenger Richard F. Colburns, who received 39.4.

George Robert Ames Jr. will return as Judge of the Orphans’ Court for District 1, with 98.5 percent. He is a Democrat.

In District 2, Carolyn I. Todd (49.7) and Calvin Travers (49.3), both Democrats, will return.

Sheriff James W. Phillips Jr., a Democrat, won re-election with 64.0 percent, beating Republican challenger Gregory S. Robbins Sr., who earned 35.8 percent.

For the Board of Education’s District 2, LeOtha N. Hull received 97.9 percent.

In District 4, Sheri Robinson Hubbard won 86.3 percent, while write-in Bill Gorsuch received 12.0.

Facebook Comment